An eye for an eye.

My apologies if what I think I’m typing in this post is actually gibberish…today I’m figuring out how to manage both nearsightedness and farsightedness at the same time without giving into the vanity-piercing reality of bifocals.

It’s just another symptom of the passing years, which really sucks because I don’t FEEL like I’m getting older. The empty nest thing, the more insistent grey hairs, the hours of middle-of-the-night wakefulness, and the vision issues all force me to reconsider that position. A few weeks ago I wrote about The Husband’s experience with new reading glasses – I suppose there’s some comfort in having company. Thank goodness Middle Sister is still at home – she’s really good at helping me ignore my aging appearance by telling me how cute I look once I’ve done my hair, makeup, and clothes (pretending to believe her is fairly effective).

My array of vision-correction options. On the bright side, they give me more scope for Vera Bradley purchases.

My array of vision-correction options. On the bright side, they give me more scope for Vera Bradley purchases.

I’ve actually had readers since January, but because I was able to master the “one contact monovision” thing, I haven’t had to use them. Until now. In the last month, I’ve found that the one contact that had been giving me acceptable distance vision is now about as effective as going without correction at all. In fact, one day when I had taken my contact out at work, I accidentally drove home without putting my glasses on and didn’t even notice the difference until I was a couple miles down the highway. Oops. Of course, my aging memory played a part in this incident, too…

Ideally I’d go back to the eye doc and get a new RX for the one-contact deal. But we definitely can’t afford that option just now. The Husband has left his job to go back to school for a change of career. Middle Sister just had two very expensive tests and will be having gall bladder surgery in the near future. The Boy needs new glasses and must have his wisdom teeth out soon. My eyes are way down on the list.

I can make do with wearing my regular glasses for distance and taking them off for up-close work. Or wearing two contacts and trying to manage reading glasses. Hence today’s experiment and my current fuzzy outlook on the world.

So if you see a 40-something woman driving down the wrong side of the road today, have compassion and just get out of the way. I’ll figure this out as soon as humanly possible.

3 thoughts on “An eye for an eye.

  1. 🙂 I have just learned to master the mono vision way. Had to keep going back for tweaks to the balance between the two eyes, but I love mine. I had given up an thought I would always use bifocals because I needed readers with my contacts. Had to wear them even while I was cooking. Then the eye doctor convinced me to give these a try. I am happy I did. However, that itty bitty writing on any package – which I am trying to avoid anyway, is very hard to read. Good luck!

    Like

    • Yes, it took me a while to get the right prescription, too, and to learn how to do it, but when I finally got there it was really convenient. Much better than the lame “bifocal contacts” my previous doc convinced me to try – they didn’t work at all!

      Like

Leave a Reply

