They SOOOOO don’t get it.

gop failPolitical rants are really not the point of my blogging. But I was so disgusted by the Republican response to the state of the union address last night that I just can’t let it go.

I’m sure Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers is a lovely person. She may be a very effective congresswoman, but I really don’t know her record. What I do know is that her subject matter and her manner of speaking did not do women or the GOP any favors (not that I would really want to do the GOP any favors…). There was absolutely nothing of substance in that response.

My initial impression was that I was listening to a preschool teacher address a group of four-year-olds. That was the tone of voice and the cadence of the speech.

Then Rep. Rodgers began telling the nation  a) that she’d given birth eight weeks ago and b) a heartwarming story about her child with Down’s syndrome and what a fighter and high achiever he is. I would love to sit down over a cup of coffee and hear these stories.  But neither of the topics is relevant to the situation, and neither belongs in a political address. And then she went on to spout completely meaningless Republican soundbites. Sheesh.

What makes me sick is that the GOP speechwriters apparently believe that this sort of tripe is what will make it seem that they relate to and are sympathetic toward women.

Being a mom is the most important thing in my life. I am a huge cheerleader for moms who are devoted to their families and still pursue their careers.

But I am insulted (though not surprised) that Republicans believe that putting a mom with a heartwarming story and a load of tired rhetoric on the screen will make me feel all appreciated. Vomit.

On the other hand, I can only hope they continue to be so incredibly obtuse…this totally ignorant attitude could bode well for the next congressional elections.

Leave a Reply

