How I survive winter.

My stated goal yesterday was to NOT leave the house for anything. After having been out and about half the day on Friday in wind, ice, and sleet, I’d had enough and needed a cozy day. I’m pleased to announce that I did, indeed achieve this goal.

Yesterday was designated “craft day.”

First project: Small gifts for the four women who make up my volunteer advisory team at work. Besides being helpful and supportive, I just truly enjoy each of them. I’d actually meant to give them these thank-you’s for Christmas, but life got in the way. But I don’t think anyone will complain about a mid-winter, “just because I appreciate you” present.

I started with this:

image

And ended up with this:

image

Next, it was on to some knitting. I decided last week my crocheting tendons and muscles could use a break. So I bought a cool skein of yarn, broke out the needles, and started a new scarf. Middle Sister and I can either politely take turns wearing it or fight it out on a day-by-day basis.

image

The most exciting craft session yesterday was laying out the stacks of granny squares Middle Sister and I have been working on, to figure out how many we still needed. Turned out 7 more grey squares would complete this stage of the project so we can move on to finishing.

image

In between all the crafting I got a few glimpses of The Boy before he headed back to his college. Good to have something else to do so I don’t focus too much on the deafening silence in the house once he takes off. The day ended with curling up with a blanket and “Four Weddings and a Funeral”  while doing those last few granny squares.

To paraphrase the Mills Brothers on one of my favorite old albums, “What do I care how much it may storm? I’ve got my (crafts) to keep me warm.”

6 thoughts on “How I survive winter.

  1. Thanks! It’s really been a great project – keeps me occupied over a long period of time, we’ll end up with a useful object, and it didn’t take too long so there’s a fairly quick reward!

    Like

Leave a Reply

