One man’s trash…

The last few days of my week have revolved around junk. Here’s the deal:

TVs, mattresses, and toilets make up much of the scenery on this day. And there were scavengers out with trailers, picking up junk as late as midnight last night.

TVs, mattresses, and toilets make up much of the scenery on this day. And there were scavengers out with trailers, picking up junk as late as midnight last night.

I recruited The Husband to help me clear out a classroom at church that we’ve been using for storage. The impetus for this long-overdue project was our bi-annual “large item pickup day” in our neighborhood, taking place today. So he loaded up into the back of my tiny white van:
•three televisions
•eight assorted VCRs and DVD players
•two behemoth free-standing chalkboards that have been my bane since I started this job almost ten years ago
•a large A/V cart

We decided to swing by the charity shop that’s a joint effort of the Lutheran churches in our area to give them a go at any of this junk they thought they could sell. All the rest could go to our curb for large item pickup.

Surprisingly, the charity shop wanted everything we brought. And while The Husband unloaded everything from the van, I browsed. Here’s were the story gets good (it’s about time, right?). I looked down at one display and saw these,

image

and stopped in my tracks.

A little back story: One of my oldest and dearest friends is selling up their suburban home in anticipation of the graduation of their youngest, and moving to a farm. I knew she was getting rid of tons of her household stuff. I’m thrilled that she’s getting to make a life change she’s wanted for many years, but a small part of me is crying over the move – our family has so many memories tied up in their current home.

Several years ago this friend did a kitchen update and made THESE VERY VINTAGE AD WALL ART PIECES, which I have secretly coveted since then, every time I walked into her kitchen. I immediately shot a photo and sent it to her with a text: “Can’t resist. I’m taking these home with me.”

I walked a little further in the store and came across an unusual item (what else would you expect in a charity shop?) – a stretched canvas painted black and red. The decorating portion of my brain kicked into high gear.

So I went home and did a little arranging and hot gluing – hot glue is a staple for my home decoration projects –

image

– and ended up with this,

image

which solved the problem of a big blank wall that’s been bothering me for several years. Best of all I’ve got a little piece of family and friendship history that will give me a warm feeling every time I look at it. And all because of piles of junk in an old classroom that had just been sitting around gathering dust…

2 thoughts on “One man’s trash…

Leave a Reply

