A really quite lovely day.

Nothing special, really, happened in my little world today. Just a lot of little “nothings” that added up to joy.

•The day started with a staff meeting with my co-workers, whom I like and respect, outdoors at a cafe, in gorgeous spring weather. Lots of mutual support, dreaming, planning, and big thoughts.

•Several big projects taking steps toward completion at work. Exciting, fulfilling stuff.

•A truffle from my all time-favorite fudge shop, from a gift box delivered to our office today. Heaven!

•A last-minute SOS from my friend/coworker/pastor and his wife, needing child care for their two-year-old while they went for their hospital tour in preparation for baby number two, due to arrive next week. An hour and a half with one of my favorite little people ever. She actually had a fever and had been vomiting all afternoon, but she was a bright ray of sunshine in my day. Oh, and did you know she has a boo-boo on her knee? I’m sure she’ll be happy to show it to you.

*A happy and excited announcement from The Husband the minute I walked in the door, to the effect that he loves his new career and couldn’t be happier. I knew this already, of course, but what a nice thing to be greeted with.

*A brief but lovely phone call from a dear friend I haven’t seen enough of lately.

•A re-viewing of the first episode of this season of “Call the Midwife.” Honestly, I think this may be the best TV series I’ve ever watched. THE FEELS!!!!

*A phone call from our darling Oldest, who has been working her tail off in grad school and chose to give herself a break tonight. I loved her story about what she’s been doing to fruit flies lately (it involves mutating them so that legs grow out of their heads). Even better was the one about the day she didn’t read her email that said professors were going to start making a point to eat lunch with grad students. She ended up “accidentally” having lunch with the head of the Carnegie Institute – which is apparently something any sane person would avoid if at all possible.

•Looking forward to a trip to beautiful, windy Wichita, Kansas tomorrow. Actually, this too is something any sane person should strive to avoid. But I’ll fall on my sword for this one, because it means seeing our son in his university production of “Die Fledermaus.” It’s been a year since we’ve seen him in silk tights and a powdered wig on stage (last year was Molier’s “The Miser”) – really looking forward to it!

And now to bed, with more little “nothings” sure to present themselves all weekend. Happy dreams, everyone!

4 thoughts on “A really quite lovely day.

Leave a Reply

