And in the evening, I’m making waffles!

Middle Sister had the brilliant idea of waffles and berries for dinner this evening.

One of the interesting side effects of The Husband going to work at 2:00 am three days each week is that on the nights before (since he goes to bed at 4:30 in the afternoon), there are only two of us for dinner. Middle Sister and I been enjoying trying Trader Joe’s meals, clearing up leftovers, and occasionally going out for an inexpensive dinner.

Sorry, Betty, you lose to the Waffle of Insane Greatness. And yes, I admit that I make frosting so often I wrote the page number of my favorite recipe right on the cover of the book.

Sorry, Betty, you lose to the Waffle of Insane Greatness. And yes, I admit that I make frosting so often I wrote the page number of my favorite recipe right on the cover of the book.

Having had a big lunch at Freebird today, a waffle and a few strawberries sounded just right for dinner this time. But I haven’t been thrilled with the waffle recipe we’ve always used, from the trusty 28-year-old, wedding gift Betty Crocker cookbook. A few weeks ago I saw a post about making the perfect waffle, but sadly I didn’t hang on to it.

So I went with my go-to recipe book, the interwebz. Googling “excellent waffle recipe,” the first entry was from Food Network and was titled…

Waffles of Insane Greatness

Does it get any better than that?

They were, indeed, insanely great. And we didn’t even do them right. We used skim milk rather than whole or buttermilk. Middle Sister had a babysitting gig tonight, so we didn’t have time to let the batter sit for the suggested 30 minutes. I don’t like vanilla in my waffles and french toast, so we left it out. I NEVER trust directions to skip the pan spray, so we sprayed the heck out of the waffle maker. And still they were insanely great.

Give them a try – if only for the joy of getting to say in your best Donkey voice, “And in the morning (or evening), I’m making waffles!”

Waffle of Insane Greatness

3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup whole milk or buttermilk
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1 1/2 teaspoons sugar
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cornstarch, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; mix well. Add the milk, vegetable oil, egg, sugar and vanilla and mix well. Let the batter sit for 30 minutes.

Preheat a waffle iron. Do not use non-stick spray on the waffle iron; the oil in the batter will allow the waffle to release easily. Follow the directions on your waffle iron to cook the waffles. Serve immediately with butter and syrup.

Read more at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/waffle-of-insane-greatness-recipe.html?oc=linkback

10 thoughts on “And in the evening, I’m making waffles!

  1. That recipe sounds wonderful. I wish I could insert a photo here because I have the same book, but in worse condition. I have many, many cookbooks, and of course the internet, but this is my go to book.

    Like

  2. Ohh yum!! I wish waffles were common here! I went out a few weeks back to buy a waffle maker and only one of our large department stores sold them and they only had one type – a stick waffle iron for nearly $50! So no waffles for me 😦

    Like

    • How sad! Our waffle iron, like the cookbook, was a wedding gift. It looks absolutely reprehensible (because I never bother to clean the outside) but I love it! 🙂

      Like

  3. LOL, I love that you wrote the exact place to find frosting on the cover! 😉 And I grew up with my mom using this EXACT cookbook!

    Mmm, waffles sound yummy. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

