In touch.

Yeah, it looked better BEFORE I drank half of it. Pretty cool that the heart stayed intact, though.

Yeah, it looked better BEFORE I drank half of it. Pretty cool that the heart stayed intact, though.

Today I met a friend/coworker for coffee, where my favorite barista created a lovely heart in my cup to warm up the cold day. My friend and I spent two and half hours catching up, and talked enough work-related stuff to keep us from feeling guilty for taking a couple hours out of the work day.

And over the space of this two hours, all three of my darlings texted me with interesting/funny/unusual details of their day. How lucky can you get? Without any prompting from me, they each had something they wanted to share. They’re far away (well, two out of three are far away) but their texts keep them from seeming quite out of reach.

An excerpt from one of our conversations today

An excerpt from one of our conversations today

The best text I’ve gotten this week: From Oldest in Baltimore, to say that she’d gotten positive results on an experiment, which her lab P.I. had been hoping to get for a long time. AND that these results came just in time to be included in his latest grant proposal. AND that she had chosen to use a technique never done before at Johns Hopkins. AND that this is the week that her P.I. chooses who gets to work with him for the next five years. This lab is her number one choice for her doctorate work, so we’re hoping this awesome event will be just the thing to get her into the lab.

Yes! Texting rules!

5 thoughts on “In touch.

  1. Texting is my link to my far away kids too. My son had me add ‘snapchat’ to my phone. So now I get an occasional photo of my kids during the day… pics of them, their friends, what they are doing etc.

    Like

      • Not that I know of!! but I am not very technically advanced! ha ha The snapchat lets you see the photo for about 10 seconds and then it is gone!! I am just keeping up with the teens 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

