I’ve got ads that jingle, jangle, jingle

I don’t know what brought it up this morning, but something prompted me to sing the Riceroni song. You know,

“Riceroni, the flavor can’t be beat.
Riceroni, the San Francisco treat!”

I’m relatively certain that people in San Francisco are not actually enamored of boxed, artificially flavored rice products.

imageAnd then while out walking this evening, the “Freakies” cereal song popped into my head. This one’s pretty arcane, but I clearly remember the plastic Freakies I collected from my cereal boxes…

“We are the Freakies, we are the Freakies, this is our Freaky deal…
We never miss a meal (oh no) cuz we love our cer-e-eal.”

Recently I wrote a post in which I stated that my mom would never buy me Captain Crunch cereal. But Freakies was a Captain Crunch clone, and we had that all the time! Must have been cheap.

Oh, and this one will linger in my head for days once I think of it:

“There are lots of chewy Rolos in a roll for you,
If you’re choosy ’bout what you chew.
Real milk chocolate and caramel, too!
To chew, chew, chew, chew, chew, chew, chew!”

Not to mention the bizarre people dressed up as giant Rolos in the commercial, running around and bumping into each other. That really was Freaky.

Ooh, and there was the cute Dr. Pepper guy singing,

“I’m a Pepper, he’s a Pepper, she’s a Pepper, we’re a Pepper,
Wouldn’t you like to be a Pepper, too?”

Yes, Dr. Pepper guy, if I could have danced around with you I would indeed have liked to be a Pepper.

I will probably have weird advertisement dreams tonight. It’s possible I watched way too much TV as a kid.

2 thoughts on “I’ve got ads that jingle, jangle, jingle

Leave a Reply

