Happy not-really-an-ending

Our three darlings early this morning, at the farmer's market bread tent where each of them has worked at some point in their high school/college years. A lovely finale to a lovely week.

Our three darlings early this morning, at the farmer’s market bread tent where each of them has worked at some point in their high school/college years. A lovely finale to a lovely week.

The week of vacation time with all three kids and Husband was all too short and we had to take Oldest to the airport this afternoon, and I was choking back tears the whole way and feeling sick to my stomach because I’ll miss her so much and the end of vacation means having to get back to real life so I was feeling huge anxiety but then after we pulled away from the airport Oldest texted us that she’d volunteered to get bumped from her flight so that in effect the airline paid her to have a visit home PLUS gave her a voucher for a free flight for anyone she likes so I’m making plans to go out by myself to see her sometime in October (her birthday month) and so I’m feeling much better and it’s a much happier ending than I was expecting.

Breathe….

11 thoughts on “Happy not-really-an-ending

  1. First I have to say, what a gorgeous picture of your kids. I can’t imagine how hard it is to say goodbye. I just think about it now and get choked up. Glad you get an extra visit!

    Like

  2. OH YAY!! I was feeling your sadness as I read but that is great news!! I am off to see my kids again this week, taking advantage of being off in the summer.

    Like

    • No kidding! The funny thing was that earlier in the day she had expressed the hope that this very thing would happen, and we figured it was very unlikely. What a great surprise!

      Like

    • It really took me by surprise (stupidly) when I realized that the first goodbye, as bad as it was, was only the beginning. It’s goodbye over and over and over again, and so far it doesn’t get much easier. Sigh.

      Like

      • In a way I’m glad that it doesn’t get easier, I hope there isn’t a day when I’m glad to see her go. The recent air disasters have made me even more crazy obsessed to keep my kids with me, I can’t imagine the hell those families are going through, sending off loved ones to have fun, rest, relax, a new adventure, heading to visit family and that happens, it makes me shudder and just want my kids by my side always. Parenting is so hard… we think the sleepless nights are the worse but letting them go, not being there to protect them or hug then even when they’re a bit down is so so so much harder.

        Like

Leave a Reply

