Little Free Library, here we come!

I don't know what mine will look like because the LFL folks are building it for me, but this is a nice example.

I don’t know what mine will look like because the LFL folks are building it for me, but this is a nice example.

A few months ago I wrote about applying for a grant to place a Little Free Library in our front yard. A few days later the news broke about a boy in a suburb near us who was forced to remove his LFL after complaints from some nasty, snobby neighbors.

About a month ago I got the word from the LFL folks that my grant was on a “wait list,” which I took to mean I was turned down.

But today – and I don’t think my keyboard has enough exclamation points to display how I feel about this – I got another email from LFL, saying that they’ve received more grant money and that I am “well qualified to receive a gift library.” !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It may take up to 12 weeks for my already-built library to arrive. And then I’ll be responsible for getting it placed in my yard. And then the fun begins – registering the site, advertising, and SHARING BOOKS WITH THE WORLD FROM MY FRONT YARD!!!!!!

Hmmm…I believe I’ve been looking for ways to fill an enormous hole left in my life due to empty nest Part II.

I’m just a little excited.

photo credit: ali eminov via photopin cc

7 thoughts on “Little Free Library, here we come!

  1. This is the coolest thing! I almost posted a photo today of one of those free-standing libraries that I snapped a photo of in a park near my home. I was so darn excited when I saw that thing right in the middle of the park! So neat! The one I have a picture of was built by the local Boy Scouts. Good for you! Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I haven’t been this excited about anything for a long time. 🙂

      The story about the LFL in Leawood made most national news outlets, which all condemned those neighbors. And yet they still showed up at the city hearing to complain and argue their case! Thankfully the city allowed the boy to put his library back up, and is looking at changing their ordinance.

      Like

    • I expect it will give me a lot to write about! And it’s a long term project, both because it won’t arrive for as much as 12 weeks and because once I’ve got it up and running it will require daily monitoring. Just what I needed about now.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

