Turns of phrase

My favorite type of humor is the absurd, and I ran across a good example this morning.

funny crrottOne of the important tasks I always do this time of year is to sort through our Sunday School registration forms and take note of any allergies or health concerns. I compile a list and make sure all our Sunday School staff has it close by, to avoid any emergencies.

Today I ran across one I hadn’t seen before, and the way it was worded made me laugh out loud.

One of our 6th grade girls has “Carrot sensitivity.”

Okay, I can’t even type that without laughing. I mean, of course it’s not funny to have an allergic reaction. But the phrase “carrot sensitivity” is just inherently funny. I’m picturing a young lady, sitting with her arm around a carrot, listening to the carrot pour its heart out, and offering a kind, sensitive presence.

Here’s another one we hear every week before communion: “If you have a gluten allergy or intolerance, please come to station two, where we have gluten-free wafers.” Every single time I hear in my head: “I do not like gluten, and I will not tolerate it.” (It’s a Seinfeld paraphrase – I think he was talking about lactose originally).

It’s the little things. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Turns of phrase

  1. But surely every vegetable deserves to be treated with sensitivity? Poor wee things, destined to be peeled and steamed or stir-fried, boiled or dipped naked into hummus. I think you need to start a movement!

    Really though, is there much carrot-related activity that goes on at Sunday School?

    Like

  2. I knew we were kindred spirits. I also find it amusing. I thought the gluten-free wafers were ridiculous until a friend of mine with celiac disease said, “Finally! I can take communion!” That shut me up on that point. Ouch.

    Like

Leave a Reply

