Paradigm shift

Waking up this morning over 1,000 miles from home should have thrown me for a loop. Especially when you combine that fact with the solitary travel I did yesterday, clinging desperately to Siri for directions from the Baltimore airport to Johns Hopkins campus to pick up my daughter. Siri came through for me beautifully, by the way.

But I did it all, quite matter-of-factly.

No, what’s throwing me is that The Husband arrived home late last night, and HE is all comfortable and happy in our cozy house without me.

I’m thrilled that he’s home and getting some down time. And I’m in absolute shock because he was awake and texting me at 6:45 his time. By 9:00 he’d already been to the grocery store and started his own laundry.

Bottom line, everything in my own personal universe has turned upside down. It turns out I’m a good solitary traveler. I’m not bad at navigating life without having every ounce of my attention tuned to the needs of the family and the household. My husband has learned to be self-sufficient.

I left our house empty of groceries, for Pete’s sake! Without a qualm! I’m perfectly confident that Middle Sister can pick up some food, plan a few meals, and feed herself and her father while I’m gone.

It’s a whole new world.

My day so far:

Oldest as we hiked to campus this morning

Oldest as we hiked to campus this morning

This is staged, but this is one of the things she does in lab.

This is staged, but this is one of the things she does in lab.

I got to be unskilled labor in the lab this morning - putting the plugs in these fruit fly tubes. New job!

I got to be unskilled labor in the lab this morning – putting the plugs in these fruit fly tubes. New job!

 

4 thoughts on “Paradigm shift

  1. Your husband knows how to operate the machines to clean his clothes? You are one lucky gal. Nice to hear you made it safely. I couldn’t tell you what that would do to my anxiety.

    Like

    • It’s funny – he’s proven himself perfectly capable of doing laundry long ago, but he can’t manage his time well enough to help consistently. But since he’s been on the road and doing his own laundry every week, he’s like a whole new person!

      Like

Leave a Reply

