City sidewalks, busy sidewalks

In reality, there aren’t busy sidewalks in our suburban neighborhood. But holy cow, the streets and store aisles are busy today.

Our local downtown area, decorated for the season.

Our local downtown area, decorated for the season.

After yesterday’s grocery shopping I was pleased with myself for making sure I had all the provisions needed for the next few days of celebration. Until this morning, of course, when I realized I’d forgotten several vital items. I’m hoping this happens to everyone. I’d hate to be the only one who’s that disorganized at this time of year.

So it was back to the grocery store again today. And while I was at it, I kept adding more and more stops on my errand list. Charity shop to drop off a donation. Bank to deposit a check. Drug store. THEN grocery store, and finally the library.

Not only were cars backed up for a block at each intersection today, but the grocery store parking lot was a dog-eat-dog nightmare. I finally pounced on a space being vacated by an SUV, and no one even verbally assaulted me for it. I have actually had that happen to me at this particular store.

The aisles of the store were even worse. Because not only were they packed with shoppers, but it was those shoppers who do not realize that grocery shopping is NOT a leisure activity. The misison is to get in and out in the shortest time possible, tossing items into your cart and ticking them off your pre-made list. These folks today were the type who had no idea what they wanted to cook, what they wanted to buy, or where to find the items they might eventually decide on. Thankfully I had Oldest, who got home late last night, with me to run interference. I plowed through those slowpokes like a bulldozer at top speed, knowing I had to get the heck out of that scrum of bodies and carts before I self-destructed due to human overload.

Five errands, from start to finish, in under an hour. Now let the holiday begin.

Merry Christmas to all!

4 thoughts on “City sidewalks, busy sidewalks

    • Just so glad my errands are done. Driving to church just now was more traffic than i wanted to deal with today. Our church is in the middle of a retail jungle, and half the city is coming through the intersections closest to our corner!

      Like

  1. Ha! I feel your frustration. I was in that mess yesterday. It was chaotic, to say the least. But five errands in this crazy traffic in less than an hour? Wow! Now that is impressive! Don’t feel bad. You’re not the only one not ready for Christmas. I haven’t even found a turkey yet. My husband suggested a Rotisserie chicken just in case. Great idea I say! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

