My cup runneth over.

We do a lot of cooking and baking around here. Eating out is only an occasional treat. Consequently, decent kitchen ware is an essential.

IMG_1593Sadly, though, I’ve been struggling along with several cobbled-together sets of measuring cups for at least the last 15 years. As all parents are aware, measuring cups and spoons make excellent sand toys, dirt diggers, and play-dough instruments. At least two pieces of every measuring set I owned were lost to kid-play many years ago. More than ten years ago, the 1/4 cup measure even disappeared from the awesome Tupperware set that has – gasp – a 2/3 cup and a 3/4 cup!

On Monday I finally came to my senses when The Boy and his girlfriend offered to make peppermint cream cheese frosting for the brownies I’d just baked. Searching out a 1/4 cup from the cabinet, The Boy noted: “The only quarter cup we have is this half melted one. That happened so long ago I don’t even remember how it got melted.”

That was it. I immediately sat down and searched Amazon for a new set. One that would be so miraculous it would entirely erase the last 15 years of measuring hardship. One that included the precious 2/3 cup, 3/4 cup, and even 1 1/2 cup. Not to mention the holy grail of baking: the 1/2 tablespoon!!! Search, click, DONE!

Yesterday my package arrived (and how I LOVE coming home to a package on the front doorstep!!) and 15 years of deprivation are over.

Do I know how to party, or what?

10 thoughts on “My cup runneth over.

  1. Oh very nice! So have any of your kids already called dibs on the old mismatched sets for whenever they have apartments of their own? Because from what I’ve seen, kitchen utensils never die… they just get passed further and further down the line!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your new stuff!! Somehow, I’ve ended up with 5 sets of measuring spoons and 4 sets of measuring cups. lol That’s not even counting my liquid measuring cups (I have 4 of those, too!) I LOVE kitchen supplies and gadgets. My latest gadget is my tortilla press that I got for Christmas! Can’t wait to try it out.

    Like

    • I know!!! At one point I actually wrote on a pair of scissors and a roll of tape “Mama’s – DO NOT TOUCH!” That same year I gave each child a roll of tape in their Christmas stockings. Just a few simple tools in my sole possession – that’s all I ask.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Too funny! I have the same problem. Where do those missing measuring devices go? I can’t wait until I have a set of measuring spoons with 1/8 teaspoon. That would really fulfill the perfectionist in me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

