Not exactly a startling revelation…

I am not a night owl.

I do better in the summertime, when it’s light out until 9:15. In the summer, even after dark it’s so warm out I don’t mind running around after the sun goes down. This time of year? Forget it.

This became a problem last night. The Husband estimated that he would get home from his week of driving between 8:00 and 9:00 pm. Too late for me to go pick him up from the parking lot where he leaves his truck for the weekend. Especially on a Saturday night, when I have to be at work at 7:45 the next morning. So Middle Sister and I dropped my van off for him so he could use his spare key to drive himself home when he arrived. Clever, no?

Would have been pretty damn clever. Except for the fact that it turned out that he didn’t make it home until 10:30. And actually, he didn’t really make it home at all. He ran out of driving hours when he was 40 minutes away. Which meant he had to pull over at a random WalMart in some creepy little Missouri town. Which meant I had to drive 40 minutes in the dark and cold to a place I’ve never been before. I’m sorry to say I was not at my best.

I was a zombie all day. It’s now 8:24 and I’m done. Good night and sweet dreams.

6 thoughts on “Not exactly a startling revelation…

Leave a Reply

