Watch out, world. Hormonal bad-ass coming your way.

As has been briefly and obliquely mentioned here recently, I’ve had some kind of interesting issues come up at work in the last couple of weeks. Issues that, quite honestly, I’d rather let lie. Because resolving them is turning out to be long, difficult, painful, and involving some in-your-face skills that I have not practiced much in my lifetime. I’m going to have to go up against a couple of people who are kind of intimidating, and who have some pretty different opinions from me.

But I’m in the right. And I have the support of other co-workers for whom I have all the respect in the world. And in the midst of this conflict, I’ve discovered  a couple of things.

LrTiKl5First, I care about my work and my workplace. There have been times when my energy and enthusiasm have waned a bit; I think that’s probably to be expected when you’re in the same job for over ten years. But the issue that’s come up has shown me what I value and what I’m willing to fight for. It’s shown me that I’m good at what I do and I want to keep doing it – and keep making sure it gets done the right way.

Second, I’m finding out that I might actually have a streak of toughness that hasn’t been tapped to date. Probably this has to do with age, maturity, and experience. After all I’ve lived through 29 years of marriage (which has included some pretty crappy health challenges thrown our way), raising three awesome but challenging kids (what kids aren’t challenging) and two separate careers. But, strangely, I think it also has to do with the freakish hormones that are trying to control me at this point in my life. I’m feeling pretty snappish lately, and harnessing that snappishness in a calm and effective way will probably help in this particular situation. So hey, maybe this perimenopause thing isn’t so bad after all.

In other words, I am about to become a bad-ass.

10 thoughts on “Watch out, world. Hormonal bad-ass coming your way.

  1. I once knew a woman (she’s passed on) who liked to tell people, “I’m fat and sassy.” She wasn’t fat and she never said a bad word about anyone. But she was in her 70s and she felt she had earned the right to be a badass, except she was much too proper to call it that. “Fat and sassy” works for me. 🙂 Now if I could just figure out how to do it.
    Good luck to you in your coming battles. I hope it all goes smoothly for you and at the end of the day you feel it was worthwhile.

    Like

  2. That’s exactly how I’ve always been, too, and so I learned to just keep my mouth shut. This time I kept my mouth shut but kept thinking about it for a week, and getting advice from people I trust. Now I think I’m ready for a carefully worded confrontation. But we’ll see….

    Like

  3. I used to get mad at myself every time I tried to stand up for what is right and instead of making my point, I would cry because I was so mad and that was the only way I could get my anger out. My words didn’t have much impact through the sniveling.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The bonus of a shitty situation is that it focuses the mind to what’s important and the bonus of age and experience is to only give a shit about the things that matter. Now just to channel your inner Katy Perry: ‘gonna hear me roar!’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

