Drugs are bad, mmmkay?

Well, some drugs are bad, Mr. Mackey. The drugs I’m on currently are meant to be helping me get over the plague that invaded our house a couple of 112658344_smallweeks ago.

Today my doc added yet another drug to my current anti-ear/sinus infection, anti-asthma cocktail: Prednisone! For my under-functioning lungs. Woo hoo!

I’m already so jittery and loopy my feet are barely touching the floor. When I start adding a steroid later today someone will probably have to tie me down. Just now at our weekly staff meeting I got several comments about my repeated silly and obnoxious interjections. Along the lines of “Can I have some of what you’re having?”

Oh, and the other great side effect of Prednisone, which my doc mentioned first thing: Crankiness. Oh, yeah – just what I need. Now on top of my normal crankiness PLUS my perimenopause crankiness, I get steroid crankiness. Watch out, world, I’m looking pillsfor a fight.

At some point, I’m going to have to Just Say No.

 

2 thoughts on “Drugs are bad, mmmkay?

    • Well, honestly I’m not sure it’s a good idea for anyone with anxiety problems to take Prednisone. I know I’d be worried sick if my husband had to have it. I decided to wait unti this morning to start it, because I really wanted a decent night’s sleep. And now, like you, I’m considering not taking it. Which I’m sure would be really stupid, since I went to all the trouble and expense of seeing my doctor about it yesterday. Bleh.

      Like

Leave a Reply

