“It’s all about me.”

In my experience, very few people say this phrase out loud: “It’s all about me.” But in reality, I think that’s what many people believe, whether they realize it or not.

In the realm of every day life, these actions say “It’s all about me.”

  • Jumping in front of an older citizen, to get through the checkout line more quickly.
  • Racing to turn left even though the light is way past yellow – never mind the danger to other drivers.
  • Voting against paying taxes to support schools – “I don’t have any kids in public school, so it’s not my responsibility.”
  • Taking the disabled parking space without the possession of a disabled parking permit “because I’m only running in for one quick item.”

This morning I was confronted with another “it’s all about me” via our church’s Facebook page. Somehow, and I don’t even know how this works, we have an open invitation on that page for people to offer reviews of the church. Here’s the review that was posted yesterday:

“Very welcoming, open, and friendly congregation. Great worship experience. But for communion I was served a home-made piece of tortilla and watered-down wine. Not good. I’m very particular about my communion.”

In other words, “IT’S ALL ABOUT ME.”

The fact that it was a welcoming and friendly experience was less important to this guy than the fact that he didn’t get what he wanted to put into his mouth when it came time to share the bread and body. IT’S NOT PRESCHOOL SNACK TIME, FOR PETE’S SAKE!

il_fullxfull.252262749One: The wine is not watered down, I promise you. I’ve witnessed the altar preparation process.

Two: It was VERY clearly stated during the service that the bread was made by our first communion students and their confirmation student helpers – as an act of service and love toward their community.

Don’t you think that act of service and love trumps somebody’s “particularity” about “his” communion? (Obvious note here: the phrase “my communion” is pretty telling.) To be honest, sir, I don’t care whether this bread satisfied your discriminating tastes.

In closing, my word to the world for today:

“It is not all about you. It has never been all about you. It never will be all about you. Look outside yourself, and the world will be a better place.”

8 thoughts on ““It’s all about me.”

  1. It’s definitely one of those reviews that says far more about the reviewer than about the place being reviewed! Would be bizarre enough to ding the bread quality even for a regular communion service, but it’s especially tactless in light of the explanation of where the bread came from. Makes you wonder how someone who attends churches often enough to be able to compare communion quality, has failed to get the point of why it’s being served in the first place.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

