Knitting to the rescue

With a l-o-n-g day to myself yesterday, I took my pal April‘s advice and got back to a knitting project.

knittingBefore my tragic thumb accident a couple of weeks ago, I had started a warm weather-ish scarf for Middle Sister. She’s rarely seen without a scarf accenting whatever part of her adorable wardrobe she’s wearing on any given day, and she wanted something light and colorful for spring and summer.

I’d been wanting a new challenge, so I tried out the very simple turkish knitting stitch. I love the lacy texture. Added bonus: I got to re-purpose a couple of my beloved wooden double-pointed needles for this project. I’ve made a few mistakes here and there, but they’re small enough to be hidden when the scarf is finished and hanging around her neck.

On tonight’s agenda is catching up with this past Sunday’s episode of Call the Midwife, as well as an initial viewing of Wolf Hall (hooray for PBS online!). I don’t think I can keep my eyes off the screen during Call the Midwife, but the knitting will certainly be in my hands during Wolf Hall.

I love having a quiet, cozy evening ahead – even on a beautiful, warm spring day.

6 thoughts on “Knitting to the rescue

    • Thanks. I actually liked the colors better when they were in a skein and a ball…but daughter says she really likes it in stripes on the scarf, thank goodness!

      Like

Leave a Reply

