What’s the weekend for, anyway?

I started asking myself this question yesterday, when I took a look at what I had planned for my weekend:

  • grocery shopping (always)
  • paint touch-ups around the house
  • mowing
  • basic cleaning
  • laundry
  • home pedicure (not really a treat – more of a necessary chore)
  • a few tasks for work
  • reading

Don’t know if you’ve spotted what I noted about this list, which is pretty typical for me every week. Hint: The only thing remotely fun on there is the last one. But I read quite a bit every day – it’s not like it’s a special treat for the weekend.

And so I ask again, what’s the weekend for?

It doesn’t help that “weekend” for me includes at least half a day of real career-related work EVERY weekend. That’s just the nature of my job. It also doesn’t help that our paychecks in this establishment don’t stretch to weekend getaways or cultural opportunities (how I would LOVE to have season tickets to our symphony and the city opera company). It also doesn’t help that for this introvert, any time spent in a large group of people (like, say at a concert or opera) is at least part torture.

So…making an effort to “fun-up” my weekend. I still have to do that painting, and I do still have to go to work tonight to do some prep work for tomorrow morning…so my options are limited. All I’ve come up with so far is treating myself to making some homemade chai latte this morning.


Now accepting suggestions.

And asking a question: What do you do to make a little fun on your weekend?

9 thoughts on “What’s the weekend for, anyway?

  1. Here in Phuket most of the resorts have amazing Sunday brunch buffets, so we try to do that every month or so… And after the brunch you are able to use their pools! Maybe there’s something like that in your area?
    Chad works most weekends, so we try to fit things in in-between his appointments . Usually it has to do with food because I love it 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I end up doing more chores than fun stuff on weekends too now and that is a depressing thought.. The woes of motherhood and all that. I think the only treat I look forward to is not waking up early and lazing in bed till 10 or even 11 :p
    I think I need to change things up a little too, just as soon as I finish this third load of laundry and mop the kitchen floor while Lilly is napping…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

