I tried. Really.

Pretty much every day it’s a struggle for me to force myself to exercise. Even though I know it’s good for me, even though I know I’ll feel better if I do. It’s just a chore.

This morning I experienced the ultimate insult yet again. Got up, put on my workout clothes, headed out the front door for a power walk in the lovely, cool morning. And just as I got around the corner, giant raindrops started coming down. I’ve been known to tumblr_mjffy7YKuq1rdpe7bo1_500walk in the rain, but there was thunder and lightning as well. I figured becoming a human lightning rod would probably nullify the positive effects of aerobic excercise, so I turned around and went straight back home. Elapsed time: 1.5 minutes. And now I’ve got to force myself into activity all over again later in the day.

But darn it, I think I should get credit for trying. I mean, if there was any justice in the world, the effort would count for something, right?

Same thing happened when I was at a conference in July. I specifically got up early and made my way to the workout room, full of self-righteousness. And was promptly deflated when every one of the treadmills was taken by obnoxiously buff businessmen. I was on a tight schedule, so my only recourse was to give up, grab a cup of coffee, and get ready for the day’s conference schedule. My sloth that day was totally not my fault

I hope somebody, somewhere is keeping score.

8 thoughts on “I tried. Really.

  1. Because I didn’t exercise yesterday, I would be reminded that I got 1.5 minutes more of exercise than I did yesterday. Maybe I need exercise wear….that may get me more motivated to move.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahaha – good thinking! I really do find its easier for me to force myself to work out if I have something I like to wear. Shallow, maybe, but probably it would be worth investing in some new yoga pants and stuff.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a solution for you! In-home (or in-hotel) workouts! My best friend has been emailing me these 15-30 minute workouts that I can do in the comfort of my own home (because I hate gyms and other people watching me work out). To get you started, google: popsugar 5 minute abs and give it a try. It’s literally five minutes of your day, it gets your heart pumping and you will totally feel it. Want more than five minutes, do it twice. Need more of a challenge or want to work out your legs as well, google: popsugar 5 minute legs, but I’m telling you the legs one kills me. Now these are just examples, they are quick and burn a lot of calories (believe it or not). I do about 15-30 mins 4x/week and I’ve noticed a pretty big change in my body. Let me know if you’re interested in more workouts that are similar to this 🙂 Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

