To phone or not to phone? That is the question.

The worst thing about dropping our land line (three years ago) and going cell phones-only: Sometimes you miss phone calls.

The best thing about dropping our land line and going cell phones-only: Sometimes you miss phone calls.

False advertising: I have never used my cell phone on a white-sand beach beside a gorgeous blue ocean.

Yesterday I left my phone in my office when I left work for the day. Couldn’t be bothered to go back and get it, so for the first time in a long time I just had a communication-free evening. Well, except for a few emails. I asked Middle to text her two siblings and let them know I had no phone, in case they tried to get hold of me overnight.

It was a lovely evening. I’ve read several “introvert personality checklists” over the years, and most of them include the fact that we despise phone calls. Calls are too much of an intrusion, even when they’re from someone we care for a great deal. I certainly find that to be true. It takes a ridiculous amount of emotional energy for me to pick up a call or dial someone’s number, unless it’s one of my immediate family of husband and kids.

I’ll be a little jittery when I get back to my office today, wondering what messages I might find when I pick up my phone.

Any fellow inroverts out there who have the same adversarial relationship with their phone?

5 thoughts on “To phone or not to phone? That is the question.

  1. You are not alone. I have such serious anxiety when my phone rings (people closest to me rarely call, so it’s going to be someone I *really* don’t want to talk to. Anyway, my anxiety levels get so high that I’ve had to put a relaxing ring tone to my phone when people call. I love/hate my phone. I can do so many things -troll the internet, facebook message people, check WebMD.com for the millionth time… But having to have real human interaction on that thing, listening to someone’s voice is practically painful to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

