Weekend update.

 

I’m so old that this is what I think of when I think of Weekend Update.

 
It’s another gorgeous weekend in the “great” state of Kansas (Weather-wise, that is. Politically it’s still bat-shit crazy around here). 

Here are the extremely local (as in affecting my household) headlines:

  • We’re only two weeks out from the big trip to visit Oldest in Baltimore. That will be The Husband, my mom, and myself. We’ll do a day in Philadelphia (missing the Pope by one week, thank goodness – the city will be pretty much shut down next weekend) and a day in D.C. Should be great fun…fingers crossed.
  • Speaking of Oldest, she’s doing exciting things lately. Becoming an interviewer for applicants to her alma mater, Northwestern University. Joining a National Science Foundation program to teach science to kids in Baltimore public schools. What a great kid. 
  • The Boy started flight school yesterday. This is huge – it’s a lifelong dream, and he’s absolutely over the moon. Since he’s going to school in Wichita, Kansas – the airplane manufacturing capital of the U.S. – this is his best chance to do it and he’s finally gotten there, thanks to financial assistance from my dad and step-dad. He’s studied aircraft and flight since before he was in kindergarten. Can identify any plane ever made at a glance. Knows the physics backwards and forwards. Won a district-wide competition representing his hero, Chuck Yeager (first pilot to break the sound barrier) in the fifth grade Heroes contest. They say he’ll be in the air within a couple of weeks. I SO wish we could be there to see his face when he steps out of that plane. 
  • Middle is dedicated to her work in the classroom in which she’s currently observing and will soon be student teaching. She loves grading papers and entering them into the classroom’s online gradebook. Can’t wait to see her in action when she gets to start writing her own lesson plans. I’ve watched her blow the rest of our Sunday School staff away with her Sunday School lessons for several years. So cool to see someone doing what they excel at. 
  • There’s been a lot of back and forth between me and my sister  in Ireland, and between me and my dad. We all have a date for a Skype session this week, during which my sister and I want to tackle power of attorney issues. At this point I have no idea if my dad even remembers the conversation we had last week about giving me the power to deal with his doctors as needed. Either he’s forgotten it all or he’s playing it very cool when I talk to him on the phone (because his wife may be in the room and might well throw a fit if she knew we were getting into this stuff). I’m as nervous as a cat in a room full of rocking chairs, wondering how this is all going to go down. 
  • In the meantime, my mother-in-law recently fell and has been even more confused than usual since that event. There’s even some question of whether the fall was due to a minor stroke. I think we’re witnessing sundowning in her, now, too. So it looks like we’re about to be hit with a double order of “panini generation.” Joy.

And that’s all the news that isn’t. 

4 thoughts on “Weekend update.

  1. Must be great to see your kids all making so much good progress toward living their dreams! Pretty amazing people you’ve raised.

    Hopefully your MIL is doing better. Although confusion in the elderly only ever seems to get worse…

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s the really discouraging thing – knowing it’s never going to get better, only worse. But yes, watching our kids do so well is a HUGE bright spot. I know you know a little something about that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

