Highs and Lows

All week I’ve been chasing my tail, trying to catch up with all the stuff I didn’t do while I was out of town for a week and a half. Then what I thought was killer fall allergies seems to be resolving itself into a head cold. Add these two facts  together and you get a fried brain.

So I’m going with a very simple concept today, one I use with groups of kids quite a bit: Highs and lows. One high and one low stand out from yesterday.

Low:

Had a coupon and a gift card from a nearby department store. Was sadly in need of a new bra (NOT a fun shopping experience, in my opinion). Ran to said store during my lunch time to make a purchase and to take advantage of coupon and gift card. Got to the checkout counter and was served by a woman who was a complete and utter doofus. There were several people in line behind and around me, and as I set the bra on the counter, the counter help says in full voice, “So, one over-the-shoulder-boulder-holder, huh? Is that it?”

Thank you, madam, for bringing your twelve-year-old sensibilities straight from the 70’s and using them to make me want to melt into the floor.

High:

Five hours later, I’m home and the cold is taking over. Total exhaustion. Middle Sister to the rescue with a warm and delicious supper that was absolutely perfect for autumn, not to mention perfect for soothing a sore throat.


Wild rice, mushrooms, and craisins over baked acorn squash, with a side of homemade honey crisp applesauce.

Long day ahead of me today, with four meetings, a mile-long to-do list, and an achy head.

Hoping for lots of highs today.


5 thoughts on “Highs and Lows

  1. Hope you’ll be feeling better today. That lady at the counter could have said that a bit quieter. It’s not like people don’t already know that we wear them, but there’s no need for everyone to look over and see exactly which one we bought.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

