Who we are.


There are so many things to say about the world events of the past week, all of which have been said before by someone, and all of which are inflammatory to some group or another.

As I have mentioned recently in this space, I LOVE the fact that blogging allows us to connect with people all over the world. Those perspectives are invaluable to me.

At the same time, the fact that I have those global connections makes me uncomfortably aware of how extremely badly the U.S. is coming off.  In the arenas of ISIS, refugees, and generally being a nation of decent, reasonable human beings, too many people who hold power in our nation are showing themselves to be xenophobic, ignorant fear-mongers. I’ve read polls this week that show a majority of citizens agree  with those leaders. I am ashamed.

I suppose what I want to say is that there are still many of us here who empathize with the plight of refugees. Who are not afraid to open our arms to those in need. Who have great respect for the real Islam. Who learned from the sins of our past (remember Japanese internment?). Who recognize and honor the humanity of those who are different and yet so similar to us.

On the behalf of a nation which, at its purest level, is meant to stand for freedom and justice, I extend my most sincere apologies.

15 thoughts on “Who we are.

      • I have put many many things on Facebook, which really does nothing unfortunately … And am currently Looking into ways to donate my time/money to refugee camps here in Thailand. We have Rohingya refugees coming here that are pretty badly treated as well. I figure if I can’t help out back home in the states then I will help here. Try to back up my Facebook posts with actions. Will write a post about it when I start I think.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi, this is E. I love your blog but usually S does all the posting. 🙂 Anyway I just want to say that your post really touched me. My paternal grandparents fled Eastern Europe with their collective families to escape the horrors of Stalin’s regime. They came to America for a better, safer life. They experienced bigotry, hatred, and fear when they arrived in Boston and lived in poverty. But they perservered and my father always credited FDR’s 1935 Social Security Act, aka welfare, with saving their lives. (He was born in 1928 and his father was killed when he was 9, leaving a large household of various grandparents, aunt, uncles, etc. short one income.) I don’t know what they would have done without the government’s help. I have been so saddened and upset by all the political rhetoric and quite frankly, hurtful crap, that poiticians have been spewing. Do they really believe what they’re saying? Do they not know how dangerous their words are? Do they even care?

    One of my favorite FDR quotes, “The test of our progress is not whether we add more to the abundance of those who have much; it is whether we provide enough for those who have too little.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for this fascinating addition to the conversation, and I’m really glad to hear from you! I’m thrilled that my post touched you, because it really came from my heart.
      It’s interesting that you discuss FDR. I’ve been specifically thinking of him in the last few days. Having read several volumes about him, I keep reflecting on the dichotomy of what he did for the U.S. and the world. On the one hand, he presided over Japaness internment and chose to ignore the plight of those being exterminated in Europe – he truly was a Machiavellian figure in that respect, though I can see that what he did came out of a desire for “the greater good.” And then, too, he was simply a duplicitous asshole in his personal dealings with other people in his sphere. At the same time, I absolutely revere his dedication to social justice, to the raising up of the poor. In so many ways I wish another FDR would appear in our times. Maybe one with a slightly less troubling way of operating. Though I’m not sure it’s possible to be a politician on the world stage without having some asshole tendancies…

      Like

  2. The e-card sums it up perfectly.Yes, let’s put on our Pilgrim hats and give thanks for all our blessings… while at the same time, tell a family that has lived in a refugee camp for the last 3 years that they’re not welcome in the land where the Pilgrims went to escape persecution.

    Blech.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t keep well informed in politics, mainly because it makes me sick. I agree with your sentiments. I think so many things regarding our government and policies should change, but so few people have the power to actually change anything, and those people constantly sling mud at each other, I can’t imagine much getting done. It’s frustrating and I am also ashamed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

