So many books, so little time.


Yesterday I got caught up in an aweseome Facebook tag asking me to list ten books that have been meaningful to me and/or stayed with me in some way. (Yay! Finally something worthwhile on FB!) It was Middle who tagged me. I tagged her brother, my mom, and my sister.

Obviously the problem was limiting to ten. Thankfully it was acceptable to list an entire series as one book. Still, it took me about three minutes to realize I had shamefully left off TONS of titles that have changed my life. Here’s the list I posted:

1. Pride and Prejudice

2. The Little House series

3. The Secret Garden

4. Harry Potter series

5. The Ramona series

6. The James Herriot series

7. The Number One Ladies’ Detective Agency series

8. The Anne of Green Gables series

9. Winnie the Pooh

10. The Miss Read series

I was not surprised to discover that my list was heavy on children’s literature. Not only did those juvenile and YA books change my life as a child, but reading them aloud to my own children is the most precious of memories.

Now, without the limitation of the FB tag, I can go past ten and add on some of the titles I feel terribly guilty about forgetting in my FB post:

To Kill a Mockingbird

Everything ever written by Madeleine L’Engle

The Philip Gulley Harmony series

Emma (okay, every novel Jane Austen wrote)

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (Upon completing this Agatha Christie masterpiece in high school I was so blown away by the surprise ending I could talk of nothing else, even though the person I was talking to at the time had absolutely no interest. And really, everything Christie wrote would be on this list.)

P.G. Wodehouse’s Jeeves and Wooster books and short stories

Alexander McCall Smith’s Sunday Philosophy Club series

I’ll stop there for now, but as sure as I do I’ll think of five more I’ve forgotten. It occurs to me that what I really needed was a tag for “authors who have been meaningful and have stayed with me in some way.”

And so, dear reader, I ask you to pick up the tag. List ten books (or ten authors, as I’m feeling generous) who have made a memorable impact on your life.

Have fun!

4 thoughts on “So many books, so little time.

Leave a Reply

