What do I want to be when I grow up?

This is a question some friends and I have tossed around more than once over the years.

Recently these two friends have kind of figured out what they want to be when they grow up. One sort of “retired” and is setting up her own quilting business. One moved to a farm, delights in taking care of her animals, and has a low-key part time job just for human contact.

And here I am, still asking the question.

I’ve been doing the same work for almost 12 years. There have been ups and downs, but on the whole I love almost every aspect of it. And yet…I’m becoming aware that I’m being pulled in another direction. That direction is an enormous question mark, meaning I have no actual prospects at this time. It’s probably going to be a matter of waiting, watching, and discerning.

In the meantime, let’s play around with the question a little.

When I grow up, I want to be…

53920-299x401-Primaballerina

A ballerina? That was a pipe dream about 45 years ago. Definitely not happening.

 

Teacher.jpg

Teacher? Been there, done that. Would have to be a true masochist to do it again.

logo

Rocked this one for a long time. I’m afraid the position is becoming obsolete, though.

iStock_000005182627Small

Author? I’ve done a bit of that, and will probably do it again. But it’s pretty clear I’ll never make a living at it. (Thanks for the semi-annual $30 royalty check, Mr. Small Publishing Company Editor.)

superwoman-clipart

Superwoman? I think I’ve been wearing that cape all along. I’d like to take it off for a while.

Let me know if you have any ideas – I could use some help here!

 

 

7 thoughts on “What do I want to be when I grow up?

  1. A teacher – no thank you. I can’t imagine being a teacher, especially these days. I have no idea what I want to be when I grow up either. I know what I would *like* to do, but it’s not doable at this point in my life, so until then – if ever….no clue. Maybe in another 35 years I’ll figure it out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

