Dream a little dream.

dream

This past weekend I was one of the planners / facilitators / teachers for a local leadership event…

And I came away with a dream.

I’ve been contemplating the future of my work life for a while now. Wondering what I REALLY want to be when I grow up. Sometime during Saturday’s event, I figured it out.

But what I want to be isn’t even a thing.

Here’s the deal: I firmly believe that the leadership principles we’re working with in this organization have the potential to create significant positive change in this world, in every arena. I feel passionate about this work (which, at this point, is all volunteer / part of my everyday paid job). As an educator, I’m also passionate about public education. And my passion for social justice is pulling at me like crazy.

So…what if I could combine these passions? The dream, in my mind and heart, looks like taking this leadership stuff to urban school districts, with a view toward helping teachers and administrators effect real change in the places where they work – the places where kids and parents have, for generations, had the deck stacked against them.

But like I said, at this point in time that’s not even a thing. The organization I’m working with isn’t at that place yet in its development. And I am the farthest thing in the world from being a networker, a “mover and shaker” – the last person in the world to step forward with a huge idea and find a way to make it happen.

It never occurred to me that at the age of 51 I would get slapped upside the head with a new, out-of-the-blue calling.

I’ve got a lot of thinking to do.

6 thoughts on “Dream a little dream.

  1. Don’t think too hard about making it happen. You have the idea and you will be surprised what will come to fruition when you least expect it. Things may happen differently than expected but you will be satisfied in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, April. I think that’s good advice, and very timely. There’s more stuff going on with my current job that’s showing me I’m really in the wrong place, and it’s very tempting to try and force my way out of here and into something new…but the timing just isn’t right yet.

      Like

    • Wow, I can’t tell you how much your comment means to me. I don’t think I’m quite at the point where my church work is fully soul-sucking, but I definitely see it going in that direction. Thank you so much for your encouragement!

      Like

Leave a Reply

