Glutton for punishment.

debate-electoral

Well, I can’t NOT do it. I simply have to watch tonight’s debate.

I just wish there were some hope of it it being as cute and entertaining as the above illustration.

Honestly, the debate coverage begins at 8:00 pm here, but I’ve been sick to my stomach over it for several days now.

Anyone who hasn’t been holed up in a cave this year knows why. But here’s a short list of my concerns:

  • I don’t feel I’m exaggerating when I say the future of the American experiment is at stake in this election. Our nation is at a crossroads, and is perilously close to the point of no return for a stable, healthy democracy.
  • The Candidate-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named has destroyed all normative, mature and constructive boundaries. He’s said and done so many things in the last year that, in normal times, would have immediately tanked any candidate’s chances. And yet the media and a significant portion of the electorate has granted this overgrown middle school boy immunity.
  • Short of falling on the floor in a fit or dropping dead of a heart attack, there’s apparently nothing that can take The C-W-M-N-B-N out of the election; nothing that will stop his blind followers from voting for him.
  • I have a sneaking suspicion that journalists (and other GOP politicians) are terrified of the C-W-M-N-B-N’s money, his penchant for lawsuits, and his ability to publicly crush anyone who crosses him. I think it’s all too likely that he’ll be allowed to get away with lie after lie, with disgusting comment after disgusting comment tonight, with no consequences.
  • On the other hand, the extremely qualified, intelligent, and mature Democrat on the stage is likely to be grilled over an open fire – simply because she’s tough and capable of answering real, substantive questions.

And then there’s the day-after commentaries, which will inevitably bring up the Dem. candidate’s “shrill voice” or her “inability to connect with voters” or her “temperament.” Columnists and journalists have shown a disturbing level of sexism in their coverage of this woman, and it makes me ill.

As a life-long political junkie, I’m honor-bound to watch this debate. I’ll have The Husband and our Middle right beside me, and I’ll be texting our two out-of-town darlings throughout, for moral support.

But I doubt I’ll get any sleep afterward. It’s going to be a long night.

7 thoughts on “Glutton for punishment.

  1. I actually toggled between football and the debate. There is a separate world Trump lives in. Hearing one of his followers defend him is just as stupid. There are things to be fixed within our government but Trump is not the answer. I shall be nervous right along with you.

    Like

  2. Did you watch? I couldn’t bring myself to watch all of it, but it wasn’t as bad as I had imagined it would be at least.. which isn’t saying a lot since the bar for ‘bad’ has been set pretty high this election year 😑

    Liked by 1 person

    • I did watch the whole thing, and was incredibly relieved that Mr. Trump made an incredibly bad showing (which his followers are now pretending was actually a display of his strength – WTF?). I was super upset by a lot of the commentary yesterday, because there was so much anti-intellectualism and sexism in it. (As in “Clinton can’t self-edit. She just had to use the correct name of a certain world leader. That doesn’t make her more “warm and likable..” Again – WTF?! How is it a bad thing to be able to speak intelligently about issues on the world stage?) Even from my most trusted source, PBS. I now feel betrayed and sickened.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

