Ode to today. **

**With sincere apologies to Elizabeth Barrett Browning

Wednesday, how do I hate thee? Let me count the ways.
I hate thee for being yet another day in which the depth and breadth and height of the ingnorance, trashiness, and Ugly American-ness of our president-elect has made itself sickeningly obvious.

I hate thee to the highest level of Dante’s rings, for being a day in which I awoke with a sore throat, headache, and earache. And in which I absolutely had to go to the office.

I hate thee freely, as I was required to go through the motions of interviewing three people for a job I’ve already, in reality, filled. For requiring me to spend time with three people I would normally avoid like the plague that is currently invading my body. 

I hate thee with the passion of one who has listened to others yack ON AND ON AND ON all day long about their problems, when clearly my own problems are more pressing and infinitely more interesting. 

I hate thee with a hate that makes me lose all sense of reason…because tonight my boss tried to guilt me into coming in to work to take care of small children,  though he know that a) I am ill, and b) I would be spreading germs to said small children. 

I suspect I shall hate thee, Wednesday, even better on Thursday. 

Leave a Reply

